The Sound Wall Music Initiative

Opelika's Premiere Listening Room


MAY 16 – 19, 2024

An annual destination event featuring songwriters from across the US & Canada offering over 80 performances throughout Historic Downtown Opelika.

OPELIKA SONGWRITERS FESTIVAL is an intimate festival that attracts die-hard music lovers from around the Southeast. Over 30 singer songwriters travel from across the country to play over 80 shows in 7 venues throughout Historic Opelika, Alabama.

Founded in 2019 by Rob & Jen Slocumb, aka, Martha’s Trouble, Opelika Songwriters Festival is a multi day festival featuring world-class artists in a small, southern, railroad town. Intimate listening rooms are created in restaurants, coffee shops, a distillery, pubs, and galleries and create a custom-made setting for a unique small town multi-day music festival.

“I was drawn to work on the OSF concept Rob and Jen with The Sound Wall proposed in 2019, the first year of the Opelika Songwriters Festival, because my Grandfather managed the mill in Opelika when I was a young child and my father was born and raised there,” explains festival co-producer Russell Carter (RCAM). “I was thrilled to meet in downtown Opelika and experience firsthand the preservation, renewal and innovations that had taken place in recent years. 

Along with the music, OSF is the perfect event for people who like to combine music, sports and relaxation at a world class spa. The official Festival hotel is the Opelika Auburn Marriott Resort and Spa at Grand National featuring three 18-hole Robert Trent Jones Golf golf courses, with scenic views, driving ranges, putting greens and golf lessons. Additionally there are elaborate resort-style pools with bar service, as well as four pickleball courts, eight tennis courts and an award-winning spa.

Past Performers —

Toad The Wet Sprocket, 10,000 Maniacs, Drivin N Cryin, Indigo Girls, Rickie Lee Jones, The War & Treaty, Shawn Mullins, John Paul White, Glen Phillips (Toad The Wet Sprocket), Kristian Bush (Sugarland), David Ryan Harris, Ruthie Foster, Dan Navarro, Sarah Lee Guthrie, Chris Stills, Kim Richey, Jeff Black, Leigh Nash (Sixpence None The Richer), Mary Bragg, Abe Partridge, Grayson Capps, Paul McDonald, Peter Bradley Adams, Martha’s Trouble, Alice Peacock, Heather Lynne Horton, Sara Jean Kelly, Sarah Clanton, Jesse Lynn Madera, Goldpine, Bradley Cole Smith & Nelson Nolen, Wyatt Espalin, Meaghan Farrell, Michelle Malone, Cousin Curtis, Cat Ridgeway, Adam Hood, Mindy Smith, Jeffrey Steele, Charlie Mars, Amy Lavere, Steve Poltz, Liz Longley, Larry Mitchell, Pierce Pettis, Eliot Bronson, Robby Hecht, Kate Campbell, Pat Wictor, Noah Zacharin, Jack Barksdale, Cliff Eberhardt, Louise Mosrie, Ryanhood, Jennifer Lynn Simpson, Katie Martin, Sam Pointer, Mark True, Dave Potts, Dallas Dorsey, Dixon Darling, Mia Rogers

The Sound Wall Initiative | Opelika, Alabama - Logo
Opelika Songwriters festival
Is Produced By The Sound Wall Music Initiative & Russell Carter Artist Management

RCAM has coproduced the prestigious 30a Songwriters Festival for the past 15 years on the Northwest Florida Coast.